The doors were first opened for consecration and divine worship on 10th July 1868. East Worthing was then an area consisting mainly of lush cattle pasture, orchards and smallholdings with property just being erected in Newland Road and Farncombe Road. The parish increased in size over the years but its pastoral areas were preserved until the 1914-18 war, after which the developers and builders really got going!
Architecturally, St George’s is fascinating. It is one of the few churches to be built on a north-south axis instead of the more traditional east-west position. The large open area of the nave crowned by the arched trusses supporting such a large roof area is a feature of the church.
With its closeness to the sea, (one of the main means of employment used to be fishing), the roof resembles the shape of an up-turned boat.